1. Home
  2. > Colour and Senses
  3. > Theory of Colours
Theory of Colours:
Harmonious Interplay


Many artists and philosophers have concerned themselves with the nature and effects of colour. Johann Wolfgang von Goethe was the first to develop a six-part colour circle which gives a graphic illustration of the relation between the colours. The three primary colours yellow, red and blue form a triangle on the circle, and between them the secondary colours emerge that result from the mixture of the adjacent colours: green from the mixture of yellow and blue, orange from yellow and red, violet from red and blue. The colours situated opposite one another offer the greatest possible colour contrast and are known as complementary colours.

If we draw a vertical line through the circle, we find the bright, warm colours on the right and the dark, cold ones on the left. To Goethe the effect of the various colours on the soul and the spirit was particularly important. So he attributes strengthening, warming and invigorating effects to the right-hand side of the circle, while those on the left are experienced as cooling and tranquillising.

Johannes Itten, a painter and art teacher, extended the colour circle to a circle in twelve parts, by mixing the primary and secondary colours together. So we get red-orange as the product of red and orange, or red-violet from the combination of red and violet.

This arrangement of the colours is to be found in all Stockmar products, and it constitutes the essential basis for art teaching in Waldorf Schools. The beneficial and harmonious effect of the colour on the viewer adds to the pleasure of creative activity using Stockmar's artist's materials.
Stockmar
  1. contact
  2. imprint
  3. privacy notice
  4. © 2017 Hans Stockmar GmbH & Co. KG

1. Home
  2. > Farben und Sinne
  3. > Farbenlehre
Farbenlehre:
harmonisches Zusammenspiel


Künstler und Philosophen haben sich immer wieder mit dem Wesen und der Wirkung der Farben auseinandergesetzt. J. W. von Goethe entwickelte als Erster einen sechsteiligen Farbkreis, der die Farbbeziehungen anschaulich verdeutlicht. Die drei Grundfarben Gelb, Rot und Blau bilden ein Dreieck, dazwischen liegen die aus den benachbarten Farben gemischten Sekundärfarben: Grün aus Gelb und Blau, Orange aus Gelb und Rot, Violett aus Rot und Blau. Die sich gegenüberstehenden Farben bilden zueinander den größtmöglichen Farbkontrast und sind als Komplementärfarben bekannt.

Zieht man durch den Kreis eine vertikale Linie, befinden sich rechts die hellen und warmen und links die dunk-len, kalten Farben. Besonders wichtig war Goethe die Wirkung der einzelnen Farben auf die Seele und das Gemüt. So spricht er den Farben der rechten Kreishälfte kräftigende, wärmende und belebende Wirkung zu, während die Farben der linken Seite kühl und beruhigend wirken.

Johannes Itten, Maler und Kunstpädagoge, erweiterte den Farbkreis auf einen zwölfteiligen Kreis, indem er die Primärfarben und die Sekundärfarben miteinander mischte. So entsteht aus Rot und Orange beispielsweise Rot-orange, aus Rot und Violett Rotviolett.

Diese Farbanordnung, die sich bei allen- Stockmar Produkten wiederfindet, ist wesentliche Grundlage der waldorfpädagogischen Kunsterziehung. Die wohltuende, harmonische Farbwirkung auf den Betrachter erhöht die Freude am kreativen Schaffen mit Stockmar Künstlermaterial.
Stockmar
  1. Kontakt
  2. Impressum
  3. Datenschutz
  4. © 2017 Hans Stockmar GmbH & Co. KG